Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Latest sNews - sNews 1.7 - with its own forums - for discussion and user mods.

Author Topic: How to display the infoline on a category page?  (Read 3911 times)

Sven

  • ULTIMATE member
  • ******
  • Karma: 88
  • Posts: 2029
  • Chasing MY bugs!
    • hiseo.fr - rédacteur Web
How to display the infoline on a category page?
« on: August 06, 2008, 09:25:59 am »

I know it's somewhere but where?
On my snews (did I miss something) the infoline (read more/comments) isn't displayed when the visitor asks for a category page.
Byline is there, pagination too... but no infoline.
Quote
$tags = array(); $tags['infoline'] = '<p class="info noprint"><span class="more noprint">&nbsp;,readmore,</span><span class="art_comment">&nbsp;,comments,</span>,edit,</p><div class="hr"><hr /></div>';
I suppose the above code should be placed somewhere but I didn't find where. As usual. :-[

Sven

  • ULTIMATE member
  • ******
  • Karma: 88
  • Posts: 2029
  • Chasing MY bugs!
    • hiseo.fr - rédacteur Web
Re: How to display the infoline on a category page?
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2008, 06:20:55 pm »

any other ghost around here? ;D

Ken Dahlin

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 30
  • Posts: 139
    • http://www.kendahlin.com/
Re: How to display the infoline on a category page?
« Reply #2 on: August 07, 2008, 08:21:35 pm »

any other ghost around here? ;D

I haven't encountered this bug for any install of snews1.6 I've done. Maybe you've inadvertently deleted of bypassed the infoline in a modded install? or maybe I don't understand. "if ($infoline == true)" appears in snews.php twice followed by a code block that echos that information. That's the first place I'd start to look.
Logged

Rui Mendes

  • Development,Testing, Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 195
  • Posts: 1009
  • sNews1.7
    • Comunidade Portuguesa
Re: How to display the infoline on a category page?
« Reply #3 on: August 07, 2008, 09:37:18 pm »

Hello Sven

I think the problem is <div class="hr"><hr /></div>';

Try change class "hr" to another name in css and in your infoline.

As I know <hr /> is a tag to draw a line, if you use a class with this tag maybe generate ghosts ;D

Tell me if this solve your problem


Logged
Need a Job on Europe. Linkdin - Facebook / Group

Sven

  • ULTIMATE member
  • ******
  • Karma: 88
  • Posts: 2029
  • Chasing MY bugs!
    • hiseo.fr - rédacteur Web
Re: How to display the infoline on a category page?
« Reply #4 on: August 08, 2008, 09:08:47 am »

Hi dudes
the <hr> is to end a page article and to separate articles when on the pagination page
Code: [Select]
div.hr hr {display: none}
div.hr{height: 14px;background:url(../design_accueil/separ.png) no-repeat center;margin-bottom:24px;margin-top:24px}
and it works as you can see on the blog "home page"
and it's still there on a category page
but no read more and comments stuff.
Yeap I surely deleted a part of the code but I can't find where.

Keyrocks

  • Doug
  • ULTIMATE member
  • ******
  • Karma: 449
  • Posts: 6020
  • Semantically Challenged
    • snews.ca
Re: How to display the infoline on a category page?
« Reply #5 on: August 08, 2008, 04:09:45 pm »

Yeap I surely deleted a part of the code but I can't find where.

One quicker way (I use) to find a problem I might have created while modding is by opening both my modded file and a default (virgin) copy of the same file... searching for the locations of where I was making the mods... then comparing the code from one to the other. I then copy the problem function from the default file...paste it over the same function in my modded file and test-run it to see if the problem goes away. If not, I undo the paste-over and try another one... until I find the section of code where the bug is.  ;)
Logged
Do it now... later may not come.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
sNews 1.6 MESU | sNews 1.6 MEMU

funlw65

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 96
  • Posts: 771
    • Country Lab
Re: How to display the infoline on a category page?
« Reply #6 on: August 08, 2008, 04:27:01 pm »

Mr. Sven,

In a default center function you have this:


            if (!empty($currentPage)) {
            
               if ($infoline == true) {
                                       ............................................
                                       }

            }
            else
if (substr($position, 0, 1) != '2' && empty($currentPage)) {
               if ($infoline == true) {
                                        ...........................................
                                        }

            }

In your blog function is only this (as it must be):
            if (!empty($currentPage)) {
            
               if ($infoline == true) {
                                       ............................................
                                       }

            }


But categories are displayed inside center function. And i think you removed the red part from it, trying to optimize it...

I hope you get the idea. Now, I will return to my silence.

P.S. Your contact form return an error when php code is sent to you... I tried to send answers that way ...
« Last Edit: August 08, 2008, 04:39:28 pm by funlw65 »
Logged

Sven

  • ULTIMATE member
  • ******
  • Karma: 88
  • Posts: 2029
  • Chasing MY bugs!
    • hiseo.fr - rédacteur Web
Re: How to display the infoline on a category page?
« Reply #7 on: August 08, 2008, 04:41:59 pm »

@ Doug
sure Mr Keyrocks! That's the way, hum hum, I dislike it yeah.  8)
I've loaded the default package and, well I must say my center function is bigger than yours. Viagra Mod enlarge it. ;D
That was before I asked the forum.
I didn't find any differences for that infoline case. :-\

@ Mr Fun
You didn't succeed in sending PHP thru my contact form?
I suppose this is forbidden by Mr Security.
The part of the code you're showing is correct for me too.

I give up for today since I'm too exhausted and nothing correct can be done in this situation.
So I go back to my silence too, praying with Mr Fun. ;)