Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Latest sNews - sNews 1.7 - with its own forums - for discussion and user mods.

Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: xampp  (Read 8744 times)

ptmac

xampp
« on: June 13, 2008, 12:58:08 am »

I am fairly new to php and mysql... but is there anyone that is using xampp on their own pc to work on there sNews?
I am trying to get myPhpadmin databases set up and I am having problems importing.  Is there something that I am possibly missing?
Thanks in Advance from a true php-Rookie
PTMac

centered

Re: xampp
« Reply #1 on: June 13, 2008, 01:31:07 am »

What seems to be the problem you are having specifically?

The problem I usually see is mod_rewrite:

mod_rewrite - turn off apache and mysql, then go to xampp\apache\conf\httpd.conf and find the word rewrite.  Delete the # in front of that line and turn on apache and mysql.  rewriting solved.

Keyrocks

• Doug
  • ULTIMATE member
  • Semantically Challenged
    • snews.ca
« Reply #2 on: June 13, 2008, 02:22:35 pm »

Can I work with sNews Locally? introduces you to XAMPP, one of the free "localhost" server bundles available. This short tutorial - Installing XAMPP for WinXP although it was written some time ago (before 1.6) - will walk you through the steps of installing it and creating your first database and it applies equally no matter which version of sNews you are working with.
Do it now... later may not come.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
sNews 1.6 MESU | sNews 1.6 MEMU

ptmac

« Reply #3 on: June 13, 2008, 03:28:59 pm »

I went through the steps and got to the create a database for my snews.  and I am a bit lost..  I go into phpMyAdmin and try to Import.. but it wants a txt file.  where do I find that.. or am I looking for the wrong file to improt.?
Thanks guys

Keyrocks

• Doug
  • ULTIMATE member
    • snews.ca
« Reply #4 on: June 13, 2008, 03:38:36 pm »