Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Latest sNews - sNews 1.7 - with its own forums - for discussion and user mods.

Author Topic: (SOLVED) Offline server on Mac (Tiger OS)  (Read 1993 times)

kmohl

• noprint
(SOLVED) Offline server on Mac (Tiger OS)
« on: February 21, 2008, 11:01:34 am »

Hi @ all,

I'm new to sNews CMS, have some coding knowledge but primarily I'm designer and I'm using Mac. I downloaded and installed XAMPP on the Mac, and sNews 1.6 to one of my site's folder online. Now, I'd like to customize the sNews default theme with design of my own, but I'd like to do it offline first. Can I use Dreamweaver for that, or there's better way, and how exactly can I start the site offline, on the Mac?

Thank you in advance for your help! :)
Kristian
« Last Edit: February 27, 2008, 06:38:55 pm by kmohl »

Patric Ahlqvist

• Nobodys perfect, but Im pretty effing close
  • ULTIMATE member
  • I'm a self-made man and worships my creator.
    • p-ahlqvist.com
Re: Offline server on Mac (Tiger OS)
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2008, 11:49:42 am »

Hi, Kristian... and welcome.

You can use DW, it's really a personal choice, boiled down... There have been some issues with both DW and FP, though, but I think that has to do with settings. There are some on here that do all their coding in DW, so it is likely to be ok...

I don't, and the most people don't use it however... We have a pure texteditor instead like Notepad++ or Crimson Editor.

On the number two, I'll leave it for our friend Fredrik "the MAC" Kylander to answer ;)
"It's only dead fish that goes with the flow... "
Updated

kmohl

• noprint
« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2008, 07:01:45 pm »

Thanks 4 D welcome. I'd really appreciate all the info I can get about starting the local server.