Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

You need/want an older version of sNews ? Download an older/unsupported version here.

Author Topic: How to install sNews under root folder  (Read 2951 times)

ajayvibha

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Karma: -1
  • Posts: 28
    • http://www.obiztek.com
How to install sNews under root folder
« on: June 03, 2007, 06:47:10 pm »

Hi,

Before writing about my query /problem here,I have already explored a lot about different posting in forums and got many answers Following is the problem :-

1)  I want to install sNews in the root folder of the actual domain like http:/www.xyz.com so that every page /  articles everthing etc will look like http:/www.xyz.com/page1.html or http:/www.xyz.com/articles1.html

I tried it out by configuring snews.php but could not succeed as it automatically puts "home" as a folder.Any suggestion please.I want to put everythign under root folder in simple words.
Logged
Regards,
AjayVibha
Online Business Technologies (OBizTek)
SEO | Hosting | Design

tarmithius13

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Karma: 7
  • Posts: 469
How to install sNews under root folder
« Reply #1 on: June 03, 2007, 08:53:24 pm »

You cannot remove the home category, you can rename it though. Refer to this post for further info:
http://www.solucija.com/forum/viewtopic.php?id=3237
Logged
The trick to flying is to throw yourself at the ground and miss.

Free sNews templates HERE

ajayvibha

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Karma: -1
  • Posts: 28
    • http://www.obiztek.com
How to install sNews under root folder
« Reply #2 on: June 04, 2007, 03:08:46 am »

Quote from: tarmithius13
You cannot remove the home category, you can rename it though. Refer to this post for further info:
http://www.solucija.com/forum/viewtopic.php?id=3237
Thank for the comments.I will carry on the discussion there so that there is no duplication of the subject.
Logged
Regards,
AjayVibha
Online Business Technologies (OBizTek)
SEO | Hosting | Design

ajayvibha

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Karma: -1
  • Posts: 28
    • http://www.obiztek.com
How to install sNews under root folder
« Reply #3 on: July 23, 2007, 07:12:48 am »

At present wordpress has the option of installtion under root folder.

If snews can be installed under root folder than I am sure it will help a lot and it can be adopted by many sites.

Cosidering the simplicty & power of Snews some basic features like option for installing Snews in the root folder , having the extension of own choice will given snews flexibility.
Logged
Regards,
AjayVibha
Online Business Technologies (OBizTek)
SEO | Hosting | Design

piXelatedEmpire

  • MIA
  • ULTIMATE member
  • ******
  • Karma: 37
  • Posts: 1401
  • currently MIA
How to install sNews under root folder
« Reply #4 on: July 24, 2007, 03:20:21 am »

sNews can be installed in the root folder :/
Logged
my apologies to the sNews crew, but I will be MIA for the forseeable future

Keyrocks

  • Doug
  • ULTIMATE member
  • ******
  • Karma: 449
  • Posts: 6020
  • Semantically Challenged
    • snews.ca
How to install sNews under root folder
« Reply #5 on: July 24, 2007, 03:35:51 am »

Quote from: piXelatedEmpire
sNews can be installed in the root folder?!?  :/
Yessiree... it sure can!  :P
Logged
Do it now... later may not come.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
sNews 1.6 MESU | sNews 1.6 MEMU

piXelatedEmpire

  • MIA
  • ULTIMATE member
  • ******
  • Karma: 37
  • Posts: 1401
  • currently MIA
How to install sNews under root folder
« Reply #6 on: July 24, 2007, 04:25:54 am »

heh, i just realised my post looks like a quest not a statement!  Edited ;)
Logged
my apologies to the sNews crew, but I will be MIA for the forseeable future

ajayvibha

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Karma: -1
  • Posts: 28
    • http://www.obiztek.com
Re: How to install sNews under root folder
« Reply #7 on: August 23, 2007, 06:50:19 pm »

Is anyone got any solution that how to install snews under root folder ?

Last week I tried word press and it was very good expereince.It can be installed anywhere including root folder.Also it has the option of allow .html extension so that any existing website own can adapt it

I am sure that by little bit smart programming it must be very much possible to install snews under root folder
Logged
Regards,
AjayVibha
Online Business Technologies (OBizTek)
SEO | Hosting | Design

ajayvibha

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Karma: -1
  • Posts: 28
    • http://www.obiztek.com
Re: How to install sNews under root folder
« Reply #8 on: August 24, 2007, 11:26:37 am »

I could not get any relevant  information with http://snewscms.com/forum/index.php?topic=5180.0

Is any live working case of snews in the root folder ?

I think than by configuring htaccess it should be possible.So say when some URL is requested and not found than htaccess will direct the request to to process by index.php etc.Since I am not in touch with php since long time but logically I think it should be very much possible.Any comments..


Logged
Regards,
AjayVibha
Online Business Technologies (OBizTek)
SEO | Hosting | Design

Keyrocks

  • Doug
  • ULTIMATE member
  • ******
  • Karma: 449
  • Posts: 6020
  • Semantically Challenged
    • snews.ca
Re: How to install sNews under root folder
« Reply #9 on: August 24, 2007, 03:55:17 pm »

Ajay Jain... Let me review what I think you want to accomplish.
(Please feel free to correct me if I am wrong) You have an existing domain with several static HTML pages in the root. You want to install sNews in the same root and use it for a specific purpose with the existing HTML static pages still being the main site. And... in this case... your "home" page will continue to be one of those static HTML pages.

The first thing to always keep in mind is that the first thing an Apache-based server does is search for active index files within the domain root. That's why we almost always start a website with an index file as the first (home) page. Apache uses an array of various file-types and keeps checking until it finds the one that is active and then opens it as the home page. Which page opens first will depend on the order in which the file-types are within Apache's index file-type array. If you have an index.htm file or index.html file in the domain root... and you also have an index.php file in the same root... the array will usually open the .htm or .html file first and not bother with the index.php since .htm and .html are usually before the .php in the array order. Then again... some servers are set up so that their file-type arrays will open an index.php file first.

So... if you have an sNews index.php in the root and it is always opening first... and you want an index.htm or .html to open first... then the sNews index.php file will need to be re-named to something like - snindex.php - so it will not be recognized by the server. In this case... all instances of index.php within the .htaccess file would need to be changed to the new file-name. And, although it might not be necessary, you would also want to do a search for "index.php" within the snews.php file to change any occurences that might be in there... just to be sure.

Then you would simply create a hard-coded link within your existing static page file(s) to the new sNews file-name.
« Last Edit: August 24, 2007, 03:58:10 pm by Keyrocks »
Logged
Do it now... later may not come.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
sNews 1.6 MESU | sNews 1.6 MEMU

ajayvibha

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Karma: -1
  • Posts: 28
    • http://www.obiztek.com
Re: How to install sNews under root folder
« Reply #10 on: August 26, 2007, 01:23:06 pm »

Thanks Keyrocks for the comments.I have applied it to a testing domain and resembled the condition and it is working ok please checkout www.freehostingindia.com

I have spent quite good amount of time im understanding snews working & testing whrere one problem has come.Problem is that while wrting a comment following error comes :-

Method Not Allowed
The requested method POST is not allowed for the URL /index.html

To resemble the problem just try write a comments at http://www.freehostingindia.com/domain/my-domain-article/
 
(I am amazed by it simplicity ,customization ability & its power .I would like to explore it more before using /converting some websites .I have few important issues which I will post at relevant existing posting or post it as new in different category for better focus )
Logged
Regards,
AjayVibha
Online Business Technologies (OBizTek)
SEO | Hosting | Design

Keyrocks

  • Doug
  • ULTIMATE member
  • ******
  • Karma: 449
  • Posts: 6020
  • Semantically Challenged
    • snews.ca
Re: How to install sNews under root folder
« Reply #11 on: August 26, 2007, 03:29:17 pm »

Ajay...
Have you made any changes within the .htaccess file?
Is the .htaccess file within the domain root, along side of the snindex.php & snews.php files?
Please post the contents of your .htaccess file here, wrapped in quote tags.
Logged
Do it now... later may not come.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
sNews 1.6 MESU | sNews 1.6 MEMU

ajayvibha

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Karma: -1
  • Posts: 28
    • http://www.obiztek.com
Re: How to install sNews under root folder
« Reply #12 on: August 26, 2007, 05:50:16 pm »

Everything I have kept in the root folder .Following is the details of the htaccess file

<IfModule mod_php4.c>
    php_value session.use_trans_sid 0
</IfModule>
<IfModule mod_security.c>
SecFilterEngine Off
SecFilterScanPOST Off
</IfModule>
RewriteEngine On
#RewriteBase /sNews16
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} -f
RewriteRule ^(.*) $1 [L]

RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d
RewriteRule ^(.*)$ snindex.php?category=$1 [L]

RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d
RewriteRule ^([a-z_]+)/([^/]+) snindex.php?category=$1&title=$2 [L]
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d
RewriteRule ^([a-z_]+)/([^/]+)/([^/]+)/ snindex.php?category=$1&title=$2&commentspage=$3 [L]
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d
RewriteRule ^([a-z0-9_-]+)/([0-9]+)/ snindex.php?category=$1&nbsp;articlespage=$2 [L]

Everything is working OK except that while writting a comments it throws a error , please check it out your self at :-
http://www.freehostingindia.com/domain/my-domain-article/
Logged
Regards,
AjayVibha
Online Business Technologies (OBizTek)
SEO | Hosting | Design