Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Latest sNews - sNews 1.7 - with its own forums - for discussion and user mods.

Author Topic: sNews 1.6 text-db WIP  (Read 3611 times)

centered

sNews 1.6 text-db WIP
« on: May 24, 2007, 06:57:49 pm »

I have stopped porting 1.5.31 over to text-db in favor of the latest version.  Right now I believe I am close to a release but I need some assistance, more specifically PHP help, which I know is prominent here in these forums.  I am not a programmer, but I need to have the text-db as an option for myself and for future clients that may or may not have a database available.  I thought this would be a simple copy and paste, and I found out I was totally wrong, but with some help I got this far.

Enough on introductions.  I am putting this out here so anyone can look it over and help with errors and code that I may have screwed up on and to help bring make this a usable option.  

This is not a fully working script.  I will repeat:

THIS IS NOT A FULLY WORKING SCRIPT!
sNews1.6 text-db http://www.mediafire.com/?6cjfbslvom9

*Please make sure the inc, api and all api files are 755.  Also the dbs folder needs to be 777.  Thats is how I have when I was testing it.

Known bugs:

Categories: Somehow I have two Home links listed, one with Home and another Home(0).  Not sure where or what to look for in fixing this.

Sitemap:  At default it looks like it works properly, but if you add a Page, you will see 3 (or 4) instances of the Page you created.  I believe this is a PHP error on my part, but again not totally sure on how to fix it.

Search: Text-db does not support SUBSTRING.  Gobo from the text-db forums gave me a portion of the script he was working on and included a sample fix for SUBSTRING.  

In Extra Content:
Code: [Select]
$query = "SELECT * FROM ".db('prefix')."articles WHERE SUBSTRING(position, 1, 1) = '2' AND published = 1 ORDER BY id DESC";Text-db would be: