Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Admin stripped  (Read 3069 times)

3Pinter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Karma: 0
  • Posts: 61
    • Fromthemill.nl
Admin stripped
« on: December 08, 2006, 10:12:44 pm »

Hi,

Question: is it possible to strip the admin out of sNews?

What I have is a site which has it's own admin-section. With a simple layout. Snews however is based upon it's original design. So it doesn't matches mine.

Any thoughts about this?


Thanks.

3Pinter

Keyrocks

  • Doug
  • ULTIMATE member
  • ******
  • Karma: 449
  • Posts: 6020
  • Semantically Challenged
    • snews.ca
Admin stripped
« Reply #1 on: December 08, 2006, 11:01:46 pm »

Not sure what you looking to do. Do you want to have a different, more 'robust' template for the Admin panels?
Logged
Do it now... later may not come.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
sNews 1.6 MESU | sNews 1.6 MEMU

3Pinter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Karma: 0
  • Posts: 61
    • Fromthemill.nl
Admin stripped
« Reply #2 on: December 12, 2006, 08:30:50 pm »

Yeah something like that,

I've got an overall admin section for all my different items, one of them is sNews.

This one has an overall 'password check' for all the items instead of seperated ones.
At the moment I have to login if I want to use the admin section of sNews.

This is one of the reasons.

3Pinter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Karma: 0
  • Posts: 61
    • Fromthemill.nl
Admin stripped
« Reply #3 on: December 12, 2006, 08:33:39 pm »

Hmmzzz...

Just had a thought:

I could set my $_SESSION[db('website').'Logged_In']  manually to 'True' right?

This would bypass the login check....?


3Pinter

Fred K

  • Still trying to learn stuff
  • ULTIMATE member
  • ******
  • Karma: 130
  • Posts: 2728
    • Personal
Admin stripped
« Reply #4 on: December 12, 2006, 09:41:49 pm »

ehm, sorry if this is a stupid question, wouldn't that mean that every single visitor will be 'logged in'? Or, maybe that's what you want. :)
Logged

Mika

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 9
  • Posts: 1377
    • http://www.ni5ni6.com/
Admin stripped
« Reply #5 on: December 13, 2006, 06:26:38 am »

The basic sNews Login routine check would be
Quote
if ($_SESSION[db('website').'Logged_In'] == 'True') {
//admin is logged in, than do his stuff here
}
You colud expand it to something like this
Quote
if ($_SESSION[db('website').'Logged_In'] == 'True' || your-other-checking-routine-here) {
//admin is logged in, than do his stuff here
}
and that should override sNews check - your other checking routine will take precedence over it..
Logged
http://www.ni5ni6.com/ - Tutorials, Mods and How-To's about sNews CMS
sNews 1.6 Developers Edition - commented sNews 1.6 version