Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Latest sNews - sNews 1.7 - with its own forums - for discussion and user mods.

Author Topic: Using category SEF title in static content (sNews 1.4)  (Read 2609 times)

Fred K

• Still trying to learn stuff
  • ULTIMATE member
    • Personal
Using category SEF title in static content (sNews 1.4)
« on: August 26, 2006, 06:00:05 pm »

Not sure if this qualifies as a mod, it's more of an extension of the index.php construction, but I thought I would show how you can do more with your static bits by a simple php code snippet. I've only tested it with sNews 1.4, not 1.3 or txtdb versions. And, because I'm no PHP expert, usual rules apply.

Back up your files.

The extension makes use of the find_category_id trick Luka showed in this thread. I'm not really sure it's required because the first time I tried the following trick I didn't have Luka's code in place in my snews.php and it worked anyway, but it can't hurt.

What the extension is good for
Let's say that you want to use image replacement to put a nice header image on your page, so you make an

header in the index.php and style it accordingly.

Here's a simple code example:

Hello World!

yada yada yada...
Now let's say you want to display different header images (or just plain old header text) for each category. This is where the extension comes in.

Using the extension
Following the example above, instead of the previous html code, we input this php snippet:

$categorySEF = get_id('category');
if ($categorySEF) {
echo "

" .$categorySEF. "

\n";
} else {
echo "

Hello World!

\n";
}
?>

yada yada yada
The CSS for the example above looks like this:
(Malarkey's Image Replacement)
.mir { letter-spacing: -1000em; }
/* Just for Opera, but hide from MacIE */
/*\*/html>body .mir { letter-spacing: normal; text-indent: -999em; overflow: hidden; }
/* End of hack */

h1.mir {
   width: 810px;
   height: 160px;