Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: using sub domains with sNews  (Read 4817 times)

michael kennedy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 3
  • Posts: 210
    • SpektreDesign
using sub domains with sNews
« on: January 03, 2007, 01:53:00 AM »

Is it possible to have a sub-domain (as a subfolder) work with sNews using it's .htaccess settings?  If anyone has tried this, or knows if it could work let me know.

Since the .htaccess file is coded to rewrite categories as sub directories and not sub-domains I imagine this isn't possible to do without hacking....

piXelatedEmpire

  • MIA
  • Thread Moderator
  • ULTIMATE member
  • *****
  • Karma: 37
  • Posts: 1454
  • currently MIA
using sub domains with sNews
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2007, 02:00:30 AM »

Logged
my apologies to the sNews crew, but I will be MIA for the forseeable future

michael kennedy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 3
  • Posts: 210
    • SpektreDesign
using sub domains with sNews
« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2007, 02:12:19 AM »

Not sure yet, that is in relation to a sub folder, but in my situation, I want to use a sub folder which becomes a sub domain.

I'll take a closer look at it tomorrow.  Thanks.

piXelatedEmpire

  • MIA
  • Thread Moderator
  • ULTIMATE member
  • *****
  • Karma: 37
  • Posts: 1454
  • currently MIA
using sub domains with sNews
« Reply #3 on: January 03, 2007, 02:35:41 AM »

Keep us posted mike, I've been playing around with some subdomains of late and would be interested to follow your progres  :)
Logged
my apologies to the sNews crew, but I will be MIA for the forseeable future

witit

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Karma: 1
  • Posts: 25
Re: using sub domains with sNews
« Reply #4 on: April 12, 2012, 11:30:34 AM »

Here's how I did it.

Add a sub-domain using cPanel, specifying the document root to /xxx instead of the usual public_html/xxx or edit the document root to /xxx later once the sub-domain has been created.

That's it. No need to change .htaccess. Access your sub-domain using xxx.domain_name. This works with sNews 1.7.1 and likely any other version.

==edit==
Just discover that another way to solve this problem is to put a short .htaccess file with just one line:
Quote
RewriteEngine On
in the sub-domain folder within public_html. This works too.
« Last Edit: April 12, 2012, 02:59:40 PM by witit »
Logged