sNews Forum

sNews 1.6 (previous version) => Mods/addons => Topic started by: etatus on December 03, 2007, 01:52:14 pm

Title: [MOD] Multi-language simple Mod
Post by: etatus on December 03, 2007, 01:52:14 pm

EDITED: The last version of this mod can be read below in:   http://snewscms.com/forum/index.php?topic=6421.msg43288#msg43288 (http://snewscms.com/forum/index.php?topic=6421.msg43288#msg43288)


Hi, I'm going to explain how to add multiple languages support to our site in 3 steps:


NOTICE:

I hope you enjoy it!  ;) Don't hesitate to send me feedback...

EDITED: The last version of this mod can be read below in:   http://snewscms.com/forum/index.php?topic=6421.msg43288#msg43288 (http://snewscms.com/forum/index.php?topic=6421.msg43288#msg43288)
Title: Re: [MOD] Multi-language simple Mod
Post by: etatus on December 03, 2007, 05:43:34 pm
If you have problems with GET sessionlang parameter (because it goes at the end of the current URL), you can use a POST form to send it:

Title: Re: [MOD] Multi-language simple Mod
Post by: Joost on December 03, 2007, 06:13:28 pm
@etatus

This is the third Multiple language mod on the forum and I am doing a similar project off-line. Reasons for running my own project, is because the ones I've tested so far, have difficulties being accessed by visitors and being indexed by search engines.
The problem is to access a page directly, when it is not a default language. Have you found a way to solve this issue?

Title: Re: [MOD] Multi-language simple Mod
Post by: Keyrocks on December 03, 2007, 06:26:41 pm
Perhaps there might be some value in having all 3 authors (led by one) working together on a single, emerging Multiple Languages mod that may, perhaps, be adapted as the best choice for sNews?  ;)
Title: Re: [MOD] Multi-language simple Mod
Post by: etatus on December 06, 2007, 02:54:22 pm
@Joost: I was thinking about what you commented about accessing a page directly when it is not a default language (this problem is common with RSS links) and one option could be change the db function to add language to all URL (for example from http://website.com/home/welcome to http://website.com/ES/home/welcome):

Quote
if ($variable=='website') return $db['website'].session_lang().'/'; // Website URL with language

And of course it is necessary a solution to remove the language extra path (ES/) and convert it to a GET parameter from incoming requests and this could be done through .htaccess file. Does anyone know how to do this?
Title: Re: [MOD] Multi-language simple Mod
Post by: codetwist on December 07, 2007, 11:49:50 am
@etatus : I'm using setup sufficiently similar to Yours ; so, here is how I dealt with url-s:

I use following rewrite rules in .htaccess to handle languages:
Code: [Select]
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} -f
RewriteRule ^(.*) $1 [L]

RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} -d
RewriteRule ^(.*)$ index.php?category=$1 [L]

RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d
RewriteRule ^([a-z][a-z])/index.php?(.*)$ $2 [L]

RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d
RewriteRule ^([a-z][a-z])$ index.php?lang=$1 [L]

RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d
RewriteRule ^([a-z][a-z])/$ index.php?lang=$1 [L]

RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d
RewriteRule ^([a-z][a-z])/(.*)$ index.php?lang=$1&category=$2 [L]

And I'm using get_id('lang') to retrieve language from url as any other parameter in snews. To do that I changed beginning of function getGetParm() to look like this:
Code: [Select]
function getGetParm( $parmName ) {
   if ( $parmName == 'lang' ) {
      $url = explode('/', $_GET['lang']);
   }
   else {
      $url = explode('/', $_GET['category']);
   }
   switch ($parmName) {
      /*
      case 'category' :
         if ( $url[0] ) {
            $parmValue = cleanGetSef( $url[0] );
         }
         break;
      */
      // Test version
      case 'lang' :
         if ( $url[0] ) {
            // FIX THIS : Add language code validation here
            $parmValue = cleanGetSef( $url[0] );
         }
         break;
      case 'category' :
         if ( $url[0] ) {
            $parmValue = ($url[0] == 'sitemap.xml') ? $url[0] : cleanGetSef( $url[0] );
         }
         break;
Starting with case 'category' : and below everything is unchanged. Function getGetParm() is from this MOD (http://snewscms.com/forum/index.php?topic=4694.0).

Of course all links across engine/mods are updated to show proper language component as needed.
Title: Re: [MOD] Multi-language simple Mod
Post by: Patric Ahlqvist on December 07, 2007, 11:57:03 am
I might be a dumbass, but I need to ask something...

When having a multiple language site... you need to enter the articles in each language in the specific db, no ? I mean the translation of the actual articles do not automatically happen, right ?

So, whats the big deal with this ? Whats the fault in simply make another DB and add the articles in that language you want, and on the default index simply link to that index.php which is afdded to a subfolder containing the additional files ?

Is it a space thingy ? In order to not need to add an additional subfolder ? In that case I get it, then my question is, in fact, a dumbass question, hehe...
Title: Re: [MOD] Multi-language simple Mod
Post by: etatus on December 07, 2007, 01:57:52 pm
@codetwist : Great! thank you, I will check and adapt to my multi-language solution and I'll comment here...

@Patric Ahlqvist:

There are two types of online site translation. One (easiest) is the interface language (articles will be in original language) and the other is the translation of articles. Original sNews 1.6 does not allow any kind of online translation (with flag links), so this is the reason because I started to make changes. And once the interface translation was working I decided to implement a simple mechanism to translate articles. I think the main advantage is maintenance. Thus, if you have a complex index.php and make changes, you dont need to repeat changes for every language...

Another issue is external article links. Imagine you enter the site in english (by default) and then you change to spanish. You search for an article and copy the link. Another day you paste de link in the browser, but the page is not found, because the initial language of your site is english. I think this problem is present also in your multi-language solution... So it is necessary to insert the language in URLs.
Title: Re: [MOD] Multi-language simple Mod
Post by: Joost on December 07, 2007, 05:59:26 pm
@Patric,

Not a dumb question, it is a fundamental question. With just a little knowledge and creativity, we can do anything at the frontside. I have, for example, a multi language sNews site in production (English, German and Dutch). It uses one snews.php,  3 index.php and a database structure, similar to this one (3 times 4 prefixed tables). A major drawback is having to log in separately in all thee languages and a image uploaddirectory, that is only accessible through one admin panel. I might has well used three separate installs and have the same result.
As I mentioned earlier, I have a ML-version in development, not fit for publishing, since the backend is more crippled than the solution I used.
The bottom-line is not what we can do for the visitor, but how to make live easier for the administrator.
Title: Re: [MOD] Multi-language simple Mod
Post by: codetwist on December 07, 2007, 08:36:51 pm
@etatus : If You are seriously at this then few more things; like differences in my implementation from what I read here:

I use following setup:
 - single codebase and directory structure
 - single settings table
 - prefix differentiated content data tables for any language

In single settings table additional field is added to determine for which language (like EN or ES) or ANY (for all of them) particular parameter record is used. Quick review of basic settings will quickly help to determine which ones are site-wide and which ones are language specific. Little exercise in basic SQL is all it takes to finish settings.

As for content data tables ... well, IMHO treating one special language differently causes more problems than gives benefits.

The rest is, probably, irrelevant details:
 - full db[] parameters set for each language (in case if I will want to separate them more than just by prefix) in separate files
 - few adjustments at code responsible for starting up engine and settings administration form to accommodate language specifics.
 
Title: Re: [MOD] Multi-language simple Mod
Post by: etatus on December 09, 2007, 05:52:48 pm
Hi, I'm still testing, but for now this solution (better than the previous) works fine for me (including the problem with external links):


NOTICE:

Good luck!  ;)
Title: Re: [MOD] Multi-language simple Mod
Post by: Joost on December 09, 2007, 06:22:55 pm
Well done etatus. With a little help ;) from Codetwist. you've made a major breakthrough.
Also concerning this mod Multiple installations using one sNews engine and one database (http://snewscms.com/forum/index.php?topic=5266.0)
I've used three index.phps in three directories there, to switch prefixes. Your method only suggests there are three directories. It will be very useful there. I'll keep a close watch on development here, keep us posted.
Karma for both.
Title: Re: [MOD] Multi-language simple Mod
Post by: codetwist on December 09, 2007, 06:45:57 pm
Congratulations, etatus ;)
Title: Re: [MOD] Multi-language simple Mod
Post by: Pali on December 09, 2007, 11:31:25 pm
guys, i have Lang. versions ready... working example: www.metaltradenitra.sk

Just one db, just one index, just one snews.php

there is hacked htaccess, so site/en/category/article/ give english version and site/de/category/article/ give german version.

Database structure same like original snews (i used explode/implode functions).

Dont have installation instructions, because there is included Luka's gallery (with image description) and too many other hacks. If somebody interested i can upload my full working version and you can play (only for skilled people - too many hacks).

Pali
Title: Re: [MOD] Multi-language simple Mod
Post by: Joost on December 10, 2007, 12:50:32 am
Hello Pali,

I would like to play. :)
It looks interesting, especially the language switch.
Title: Re: [MOD] Multi-language simple Mod
Post by: Nicu Alecu on January 29, 2008, 04:09:30 pm
Me too, Pali! I pm-ed you ...

Back to Etatus' MOD: I'm no programmer, but after looking at the code, it seems that this would support more than 2 languages. Am I right?
A live demo would be nice ... I'm thinking about making one myself  ::)

Later edit: errr, it would be nice if it worked with sNewsMU, too! wishfull thinking?
Title: Re: [MOD] Multi-language simple Mod
Post by: etatus on January 30, 2008, 11:06:14 am
Of course you can add all languages you want. You have to duplicate the corresponding tables in DB for each language.

You can see a demo of the simple multilanguage method I implemented at: http://papa.det.uvigo.es/galaia (http://papa.det.uvigo.es/galaia)
Title: Re: [MOD] Multi-language simple Mod
Post by: Pali on January 30, 2008, 02:34:02 pm
To Nicu Alecu:

i send this to mattonik, joost and agentsmith, hope, we will create some nice package together.

i will try this weekend

pali
Title: Re: [MOD] Multi-language simple Mod
Post by: Nicu Alecu on January 31, 2008, 08:52:14 pm
@Pali: OK, thanks, I'll be waiting for a sign ...  ;)
@Etatus: I figured I could have as many as I wanted ... Just wondering how other mods will work in such a case, I'll just have to test them one by one. I'll run a test version this weekend, after that I'll be in a one-week vacation, snow-boarding. Thanks!
Title: Re: [MOD] Multi-language simple Mod
Post by: Zerosurf on February 06, 2008, 01:17:06 pm
guys, i have Lang. versions ready... working example: www.metaltradenitra.sk

Just one db, just one index, just one snews.php

there is hacked htaccess, so site/en/category/article/ give english version and site/de/category/article/ give german version.

Database structure same like original snews (i used explode/implode functions).

Dont have installation instructions, because there is included Luka's gallery (with image description) and too many other hacks. If somebody interested i can upload my full working version and you can play (only for skilled people - too many hacks).

Pali

I would also be interested in your version!

Thx.i.a.
Zerosurf
Title: Re: [MOD] Multi-language simple Mod
Post by: Pali on February 06, 2008, 02:37:30 pm
hello guys,

im busy with non sNews related projects, feel free to download Multilang version here:

http://www.le-on.eu/download/multilingual.zip
or
http://www.le-on.eu/download/multilingual.tar.gz

Audience:
only skilled programmers, there are some bugs and hardcoded things!

Whats included?
Flatcart (Shopping cart)
Image gallery (with image script from Zenphoto)
Tiny MCE
Texyla
too many other hacks, mods...

What is not included?
Template!! Site looks ugly, because i removed all template parts (from CSS and images) which wasnt made by me (Licence of the template doesnt allow me to make the template availabe :( )

Structure of the site:
ROOT: just index.php, css, htaccess (its changeg, please change for your LANG needs), xslt-php4-to-php5.php (needed for fatcart) and SQL for database cretion (use phpmyadmin...)

flatcart/
flatcart.xsl -> template for shopping cart

includes/
ml_snews.php -> multilang processing (lang array must correpond with htaccess in root)
db_snews.php -> basic settings of the site
gv_snews.php -> gloval variables (change according to your needs)
fn_snews.php -> core sNews functions
fn_gallery.php -> independent gallery functions
flatcart.php -> flatcart functions
lv_xx_snews -> lang. variables, where xx is language (en, de, sk...)
ajax.php -> currently only 1 function there - deleting images from albums
.htaccess -> deny access to all files except ajax.php

gallery/
here will be stored you albums (change name of folder according to your gv_snews.php settings)

phpmailer/
needed for flatcart

js/
javascript folder (texyla, tiny, slimbox...)

Known issues:
- texyla doesnt work with new article adding, but works fine if you are editing existing one...
- images are deleted only from album folder, not from database

Title: Re: [MOD] Multi-language simple Mod
Post by: stephane on May 30, 2008, 09:19:38 pm
Hello,
I'm testing your multi-language mod but I have a problem with links.
The index page work well, but all the internal links looks like
//localhost:8888/snews16/FR/login/
and of course I have an error. It's exactly the same in English.

The good link should be "//localhost:8888/snews16/login" I think.

I put your htaccess file. I think the problem is in it ! But where  ???
Code: [Select]
<IfModule mod_php4.c>

    php_value session.use_trans_sid 0

</IfModule>

<IfModule mod_security.c>

SecFilterEngine Off

SecFilterScanPOST Off

</IfModule>

RewriteEngine On

#RewriteBase /sNews16
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d
RewriteRule ^([a-z_/\-]+)$ index.php?category=$1 [L]

RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d
RewriteRule ^([A-Z][A-Z])/index.php?(.*)$ $2 [L]

RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d
RewriteRule ^([A-Z][A-Z])$ index.php?sessionlang=$1 [L]

RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d
RewriteRule ^([A-Z][A-Z])/$ index.php?sessionlang=$1 [L]

RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d
RewriteRule ^([A-Z][A-Z])/(.*)$ index.php?sessionlang=$1&category=$2 [L]

Any idea about this problem ?

About the index.php tag for flag's I change your's by
Code: [Select]
<a href="EN/"><img src="flags/flag_en.gif" title="English" alt="English flag" /></a>
<a href="FR/"><img src="flags/flag_fr.gif" title="French" alt="French flag" /></a>

which is valid in xhtml.

Thank's anyway for this nice mod.
Title: Re: [MOD] Multi-language simple Mod
Post by: codetwist on May 30, 2008, 09:48:59 pm
@stephane : remove # from this line - #RewriteBase /sNews16. And links should contain language in them ;)
Title: Re: [MOD] Multi-language simple Mod
Post by: funlw65 on May 30, 2008, 11:24:17 pm
Be careful at snews16 from your path example and sNews16 from htaccess file...
Title: Re: [MOD] Multi-language simple Mod
Post by: stephane on May 31, 2008, 01:14:23 am
If I remove # in RewriteBase I have a Internal Error !

 Actually I have in snews.php
Code: [Select]
$db['website'] = 'http://localhost:8888/snews16/';

same with $db['website'] = '/snews16/';
or $db['website'] = 'snews16/';

And htaccess
Code: [Select]
#RewriteBase /snews16

Links look like
Code: [Select]
http://localhost:8888/snews16/FR/login/
or
http://localhost:8888/snews16/FR/archive/
= 404 not found  ??? ???

Title: Re: [MOD] Multi-language simple Mod
Post by: codetwist on May 31, 2008, 09:05:31 am
When You have # in front of line in .htaccess then that line is actually commented out. If path on disk really is /snews16/ under website root then You can access index just because it's right path for index.php. For the rest of rewrite dependent code to function You need working mod_rewrite. And obviously it's not really working/enabled as You got internal error right after uncommenting that single line.
Title: Re: [MOD] Multi-language simple Mod
Post by: stephane on May 31, 2008, 01:34:22 pm
Thank's Codetwist.
I know for the # function.
But impossible to make it work, damned !!
Maybe a problem with localhost server.

I will try on a server to see what happen.
Title: Re: [MOD] Multi-language simple Mod
Post by: stephane on May 31, 2008, 06:55:33 pm
Very strange, it's working on a distant server.  :o

I try to play with it know  :D

I can log in the french administration (table without lang prefix are for french) everything seems ok.

But I can't log in English administration, is that normal ? (wrong username etc...) I use the default one test/test like in french.
I have duplicate my table like this : EN_articles ; EN_categories ; EN_comments ; EN_settings

How can I set the title for the English part ?
Title: Re: [MOD] Multi-language simple Mod
Post by: stephane on June 03, 2008, 03:13:38 pm
Any idea about this error in login admin in English ?

If I can't access in the Engllish Admin, how can I create articles, categories, etc in the English part ?

When I'm log in French Admin I can create articles etc.. And In English admin I should create articles etc. Is that right ?

Thank's for your help
S.
Title: Re: [MOD] Multi-language simple Mod
Post by: codetwist on June 03, 2008, 07:25:23 pm
I can only assume that You should be able to login into English interface to work on its content. One question thou - that EN_settings table You created - it contains same data as default settings table? If problem persists I suggest to try out PM-ing author directly and ask for assistance.
Title: Re: [MOD] Multi-language simple Mod
Post by: stephane on June 03, 2008, 07:52:24 pm
Actually I'm trying different stuff !

1/ en_settings (without data)
Code: [Select]
CREATE TABLE `EN_settings` (
  `id` int(8) NOT NULL auto_increment,
  `name` varchar(20) NOT NULL,
  `value` varchar(60) NOT NULL,
  PRIMARY KEY  (`id`)
) ENGINE=MyISAM  DEFAULT CHARSET=latin1 AUTO_INCREMENT=24 ;
Ok create a setting table for English but can't login.

2/ en_settings (with same data as settings)
Code: [Select]
INSERT INTO `settings` VALUES (1, 'website_title', 'sNews 1.6');
INSERT INTO `settings` VALUES (2, 'home_sef', 'home');
INSERT INTO `settings` VALUES (3, 'website_description', 'sNews CMS');
INSERT INTO `settings` VALUES (4, 'website_keywords', 'new, site, snews');
INSERT INTO `settings` VALUES (5, 'website_email', 'info@mydomain.com');
INSERT INTO `settings` VALUES (6, 'contact_subject', 'Contact Form');
INSERT INTO `settings` VALUES (7, 'language', 'FR');
INSERT INTO `settings` VALUES (8, 'charset', 'UTF-8');
INSERT INTO `settings` VALUES (9, 'date_format', 'd.m.Y. H:i');
INSERT INTO `settings` VALUES (10, 'article_limit', '1');
INSERT INTO `settings` VALUES (11, 'rss_limit', '5');
INSERT INTO `settings` VALUES (12, 'display_page', '0');
INSERT INTO `settings` VALUES (13, 'display_new_on_home', '');
INSERT INTO `settings` VALUES (14, 'display_pagination', '');
INSERT INTO `settings` VALUES (15, 'num_categories', 'on');
INSERT INTO `settings` VALUES (16, 'approve_comments', '');
INSERT INTO `settings` VALUES (17, 'comments_order', 'ASC');
INSERT INTO `settings` VALUES (18, 'comment_limit', '30');
INSERT INTO `settings` VALUES (19, 'word_filter_enable', '');
INSERT INTO `settings` VALUES (20, 'word_filter_file', '');
INSERT INTO `settings` VALUES (21, 'word_filter_change', '');
INSERT INTO `settings` VALUES (22, 'username', 'SAME CODE AS DEFAULT');
INSERT INTO `settings` VALUES (23, 'password', 'SAME CODE AS DEFAULT');
Got an error when creating table = duplicate entry , same ID (stuff like that) .
An can't login in this one too, sic  :-\

Thank's anyway for your help Codetwist. You right I will send a PM to the author.
Title: Re: [MOD] Multi-language simple Mod
Post by: codetwist on June 03, 2008, 10:56:27 pm
Dunno ... why are there just `settings` used in those INSERT statements? Is that only post mistake? Because if You try that for real then it should contain `en_settings` as target table name instead. Like this:
Code: [Select]
INSERT INTO `en_settings` VALUES (1, 'website_title', 'sNews 1.6');

And why table creation command contains AUTO_INCREMENT=24 ? It's wrong IMHO and shouldn't be there.
Title: Re: [MOD] Multi-language simple Mod
Post by: stephane on June 04, 2008, 12:07:06 am
Damned, stupid I am  :P :P

I had copy and paste my SQL export DB to create the english Tables !

So I erase everything and re-create all the tables



And you know what ?

It's working  :D :D :D Thank's a lot Codetwist. ( karmas for you )
I learn everyday with this great sNews  ;)

Well, well this ML version seems to work very nice with the     
Content Re-ordering - the Ultimate Solution by Keyrocks. For the moment  :P :P

Thank's again Codetwist.
Title: Re: [MOD] Multi-language simple Mod
Post by: stephane on July 03, 2008, 05:41:22 pm
Hello,
If I'm using this great Mod for a French/English website, do you think is that possible to have 2 different logo, one for each language.

Visiting the website in French display the logo in French and in English the English logo.
Of course there is two versions of the image logo as jpeg file somewhere on the server.

Maybe something like the body id Mod, but how can I make this ?  ???

Any brilliant idea, thanks a lot
Stéphane
Title: Re: [MOD] Multi-language simple Mod
Post by: codetwist on July 04, 2008, 08:21:18 am
IN this mod it probably variable $_SESSION['lang'] to check.

In index php before xhtml code that outputs logo image:
Code: [Select]
<?php
switch ($_SESSION['lang'])
{
   case 
'FR' :
      
$logoImgSrc '<whatever1>';
      break;
   case 
'EN' :
      
$logoImgSrc '<whatever2>';
      break;
   default :
      
$logoImgSrc '<whatever3>';
}
?>


And in place of hardcoded image name:
Code: [Select]
<?php echo $logoImgSrc?>
Title: Re: [MOD] Multi-language simple Mod
Post by: stephane on July 04, 2008, 11:49:32 am
Thanks a lot Codetwist,
I will try that ant let you know is it's working fine.

S.
Title: Re: [MOD] Multi-language simple Mod
Post by: stephane on July 04, 2008, 01:25:05 pm
 :-[ :-[
Doesn't seems to work. I got always the default image and no change happen when switching language !

Title: Re: [MOD] Multi-language simple Mod
Post by: codetwist on July 04, 2008, 01:38:22 pm
Fixed broken code in original post (was missing break statements).
Title: Re: [MOD] Multi-language simple Mod
Post by: stephane on July 04, 2008, 02:45:20 pm
Yes it's working perfectly  :D

You're the best, thanks a lot (karma for you  ;)

Thanks
Stéphane
Title: Re: [MOD] Multi-language simple Mod
Post by: amak on July 18, 2008, 02:49:44 pm
I'm just a bit lost in implementing this into 1.7RC, anyone tried this?

Thanks for hints!
Title: Re: [MOD] Multi-language simple Mod
Post by: sparco on April 11, 2009, 06:36:34 am
how to transform for 1.7 ?
Title: Re: [MOD] Multi-language simple Mod
Post by: stephane on May 19, 2009, 02:14:34 pm
A little UP for this good question. How to transfrom in snews 17 ?
Title: Re: [MOD] Multi-language simple Mod
Post by: Fred K on January 01, 2011, 07:10:51 am
well, I gave it a shot but no luck so far. I keep getting blank sites.
I tried Pali's version a while back as well but ... I'm not advanced enough to strip out all the excess things to get a working core file. Sorry. Etatus version should be doable, it's just a matter of sorting out where to put the various parts (and what to change some parts to, to make it work in 1.7.) I'm still working on it, although I guess I need to sober up a little before the next attempt. ('appy new <hick> yeAR!!!!!!!!!!) :P
Title: Re: [MOD] Multi-language simple Mod
Post by: Fred K on January 01, 2011, 10:00:35 am
hehe - I just remembered, there's a simpler way. At least for my needs. One db, with one prefixed table for each language; one root index.php, one snews.php (in root) plus associated files (js/admin.js, css/style.css, lang/lang files); one folder for each language, containing a config file with db variables for the language and an index.php file with snews function calls. And Bob's your uncle.

I'm using a cookie-based lang selection in the root index.php. I imagine that it could be exchanged for a session-based selection, but that's beyond me at the moment so haven't delved into it.

The cookie thing is courtesy of, yes, Bob (bakercad). Works like a dream. 1.7 Multilang with no minimal hassle... ;)
Title: Re: [MOD] Multi-language simple Mod
Post by: Fred K on January 01, 2011, 10:04:08 am
potty that own posts can't be modified anymore...
Bob's cookie jar is here (http://snewscms.com/forum/index.php?topic=7299.msg51872#msg51872)
Title: Re: [MOD] Multi-language simple Mod
Post by: Keyrocks on January 01, 2011, 08:51:47 pm
well, I gave it a shot but no luck so far. I keep getting blank sites.
Etatus version should be doable, it's just a matter of sorting out where to put the various parts (and what to change some parts to, to make it work in 1.7.) I'm still working on it, although I guess I need to sober up a little before the next attempt. ('appy new <hick> yeAR!!!!!!!!!!) :P

Happy New Year Fred...  8)

Updated...
I have had success converting Etatus's Mod (http://snewscms.com/forum/index.php?topic=6421.msg43288#msg43288) for use with 1.7 today .... I have my text links "English" and "French" (in my case) in index.php switching the language files and d-base table-sets OK.

I'll do some more testing to be sure it's working fine and will post the final Mod in the 1.7 Mods when done.

COMPLETED: I have sorted out the URL problems I was having and have posted the complete Mod for sNews 1.7 Here (http://snewscms.com/forum/index.php?topic=9887.0).