Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Hello sNews crew!  (Read 2230 times)

carmelo

• carmelosantana.com
Hello sNews crew!
« on: March 04, 2010, 07:53:31 PM »

Hey everybody! New to the sNews community so I figured it would be a snazy idea to say hello in the intro forum.

From what I've gathered so far - it seems that development of sNews has slowed to a crawl at the moment. Still a few strong users hanging around but otherwise it seems a bit stagnant. Is this correct? Don't mean to come here and offend just trying to understand the community so please don't take that the wrong way.

A little background about me ...

I'm a 25 year old developer out of upstate NY, located about an hour outside of NYC. I've been designing for about 8 years now, with the past 2 years focused on further developing my programming muscles. I've been developing almost entirely in WordPress (sorry guys haha) for the past 3 years, while its been fun and a huge learning experience I felt it was time I venture back out in the wild CMS community and see what's been cooking.

A few days ago I decided to search the web for a very simple CMS to toy with. I came across a few but the 2 that caught my eye were onefilecms, and sNews. Onefilecms is good for what it is, but I wasn't interested in static pages. sNews from the posts I've read, and quick testing I did, seems very much like a developers starting point. It wasn't designed to be "the end user product". I guess it could be, but its missing what people would consider "modern CMS features".