Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

You need/want an older version of sNews ? Download an older/unsupported version here.

Author Topic: User photo  (Read 3897 times)

jhoulston

User photo
« on: November 15, 2008, 01:11:56 PM »

Hi All,

I'm new to sNewsMU but have used sNews in the past.

I have been thinking about trying to use sNewsMU to create a basic school alumni.
Is it possible that when a user registers, they can also upload a picture of themselves which is then associated with that user?  I would then like to be able to list alumni's by name and also maybe by photo if they have uploaded one to create a yearbook?

I may be asking too much for sNewsMU but thought it was worth asking you learned people.

Many thanks,
James.

Keyrocks

• Doug
  • ULTIMATE member
  • Semantically Challenged
    • snews.ca
Re: User photo
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2008, 02:47:45 PM »

This sounds do-able if we were to use the sNews 1.6 Modules System as a platform. Using the Businesses Module as a reference... we could then create an Alumni Module... complete with an Admin panel set to manage (create new, edit and delete) User registration information which would include their photo. The Module's front-end would then display the Alumni listings on a page(s) within function center() (as all other content is displayed). Modifications would include making the module's Admin panels available only to logged-in Users.

I have not yet applied the Modules System to an MU package... I'm still working on refinements with the default 1.6 package.
Do it now... later may not come.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
sNews 1.6 MESU | sNews 1.6 MEMU

kmadsen

• Santa Cruz al Salvador
« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2009, 12:41:31 AM »

Keys,