Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

You need/want an older version of sNews ? Download an older/unsupported version here.

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 6

Author Topic: To begin at the beginning  (Read 30425 times)

Slickwilly789

Re: To begin at the beginning
« Reply #30 on: November 08, 2008, 12:29:45 AM »

I'm pretty new to sNews, and php been working in css and html for a year now. What drew me to sNews was its small size and its core, i.e. you can add what you want and don't have to have what you don't need. Another benefit of small size is that all the base code is in one location making the system easier to learn, at least for me.

Jumping to a 2.0 version is a huge jump in any program or web app. and should be the basis for all further development of that version. I think with 2.0 you have the opportunity to relook at sNews and re-develop the core, I've read through and some people mention the database structure.. which is good.

I've read through numerous threads about creating the ability to add categories to pages (not pages to categories) and there seems to be some for it and some against it. You can check out equilni's thread on it here http://snewscms.com/forum/index.php?topic=7062.0 I think this would broaden sNews's base and help further distinguish it apart from other cms systems. I'll post some pictures once I move my files from work to my home server so you can get some working examples..