Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Possible bug ?  (Read 4044 times)

mosh

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 77
  • Posts: 510
  • Awesome day :)
    • cms-zen
Possible bug ?
« on: August 15, 2008, 04:07:13 PM »

hey all :)

in my website, stranglly the follow 2 url's get me the same page:
http://cms-zen.com/site/low-light-photography/morning-gold/
http://cms-zen.com/site/art-gallery/morning-gold/

i noticed that after i changed the article category,
from art-gallery to low-light-photography (the current true category)

Update: this also happend with all articles i changed category.

I checked the db and changes to article was saved to the new category  ???

any idea ?

« Last Edit: August 15, 2008, 04:49:33 PM by mosh »
Logged

Sven

  • ULTIMATE member
  • ******
  • Karma: 88
  • Posts: 2029
  • Chasing MY bugs!
    • hiseo.fr - rédacteur Web
Re: Possible bug ?
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2008, 05:31:20 PM »

Hello Brother Mo,
Sorry but I have no idea for your problem, except,
Maybe your sNews doesn't like the ad for Joomla I saw in the adsense board.
So he went hostile. ;D
« Last Edit: August 15, 2008, 06:03:43 PM by Sven »
Logged

mosh

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 77
  • Posts: 510
  • Awesome day :)
    • cms-zen
Re: Possible bug ?
« Reply #2 on: August 15, 2008, 05:40:54 PM »

 :P lol Sven  ;D
i looked at my snews.php = nada  ::)
all looks fine in code, hmmm
i can't find why this possible.
« Last Edit: August 15, 2008, 08:51:20 PM by mosh »
Logged

Armen

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Karma: 41
  • Posts: 338
    • http://www.funnydays.ru
Re: Possible bug ?
« Reply #3 on: August 15, 2008, 09:17:08 PM »

Logged
Now ogres, oh, they're much worse. They'll make a suit from your freshly peeled skin. They'll shave your liver, squeeze the jelly from your eyes... Actually, it's quite good on toast.

Keyrocks

  • Doug
  • ULTIMATE member
  • ******
  • Karma: 449
  • Posts: 6019
  • Semantically Challenged
    • snews.ca
Re: Possible bug ?
« Reply #4 on: August 15, 2008, 09:22:45 PM »

hey all :)
in my website, strangely the following 2 url's get me the same page:
http://cms-zen.com/site/low-light-photography/morning-gold/
http://cms-zen.com/site/art-gallery/morning-gold/

i noticed that after i changed the article category, from art-gallery to low-light-photography (the current true category)

Update: This also happend with all articles i changed category, I checked the db and changes to article was saved to the new category  ???

Any idea ?

Nope. Nosiree. Absolutely no idea at all.
This does not happen for me with a default 1.6 install.
After editing the category name... and refreshing the page by clicking Home... and I mouse-over the Category title (with its new revised name), the URL is pointed to the new name... and the articles in it are displaying fine when I click the category title.

What you describe is like the "morning-gold" image is posted in two different categories at the same time... which doesn't make sense unless you have a modified version of sNews that includes a mod Bakercad did over the winter that allows Admin to post same-name articles to different categories.
What version of sNews are you using?
What modifications have you added in?
Are you using a gallery script or just naming categories as galleries and posting images as articles?
Logged
Do it now... later may not come.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
sNews 1.6 MESU | sNews 1.6 MEMU

funlw65

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 96
  • Posts: 771
    • Country Lab
Re: Possible bug ?
« Reply #5 on: August 15, 2008, 09:32:50 PM »

Hi Moshe,
I tested, this is not only happening with an article which you changed his category. Is about any article on your site, I can call any article of your site with ANY category.....

I think is in center function, where it must display articles.... something about a query? Is looking only for seftitle, without searching also for the category included in link .... that make the difference ... I'm sure ....

-----------------------------------
Armen's link is the solution. Had to see that first, sorry Armen.

Why I don't have the same problem?  Because EQ worked on a patched version of sNews (I mean, that package with SEF switcher)?
« Last Edit: August 15, 2008, 09:39:08 PM by funlw65 »
Logged

Keyrocks

  • Doug
  • ULTIMATE member
  • ******
  • Karma: 449
  • Posts: 6019
  • Semantically Challenged
    • snews.ca
Re: Possible bug ?
« Reply #6 on: August 15, 2008, 09:46:28 PM »

CLARIFICATION:
I should note that my current default 1.6 install (for testing) has Philmoz's solution in place. It was added to the official download package in early January 2008... and it is in the current official download package as well. So this would only occur with a pre-January 15.08 download.

If you keep a master default 1.6 package on your computer to re-use over and over for several projects... I suggest replacing it with the current download package. It has had several userful updates even since January 2008.
Logged
Do it now... later may not come.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
sNews 1.6 MESU | sNews 1.6 MEMU

mosh

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 77
  • Posts: 510
  • Awesome day :)
    • cms-zen
Re: Possible bug ?
« Reply #8 on: August 15, 2008, 10:12:47 PM »

 :P :D 8)
Thank you all Fixed.

@ Armen and Joost
thank you for pointer to the right place.

@Keyrocks
hehe yes i am using a very modded OLD sNewsCMS v1.6
this Fix must have sneaked under my mouse :)
using sNews categories and articles for art display.

@Funlw
thank you for Testing :)

Karma ++ all around
awesome nite
« Last Edit: August 15, 2008, 10:16:42 PM by mosh »
Logged