Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 [2] 3

Author Topic: change page to article bug ?  (Read 14466 times)

funlw65

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 96
  • Posts: 771
    • Country Lab
Re: change page to article bug ?
« Reply #15 on: May 17, 2008, 05:46:31 AM »

In my opinion, Uncategorized category must be read only. Can`t be editable, sortable....You prevent problems this way with newbies....
I have the liberty to create any category I want, I`m not limited to a exact number so, no need to alter Uncategorized... And if I don`t want to appear, I must organize better articles....
Something must be read-only (position or Name, or both)....
« Last Edit: May 17, 2008, 05:50:05 AM by funlw65 »
Logged

Armen

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Karma: 41
  • Posts: 338
    • http://www.funnydays.ru
Re: change page to article bug ?
« Reply #16 on: May 17, 2008, 08:35:39 AM »

sNews is not for noobs.

That's why one is responsible for his/her actions. If one wants to delete a category - nothing will stop him/her.

Although, you can make sNews uderstand category = "-1" expression to distinguish "Uncategorized" articles from all other articles, for example.

Hm. That's a good idea,
« Last Edit: May 17, 2008, 08:47:57 AM by Armen »
Logged
Now ogres, oh, they're much worse. They'll make a suit from your freshly peeled skin. They'll shave your liver, squeeze the jelly from your eyes... Actually, it's quite good on toast.

funlw65

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 96
  • Posts: 771
    • Country Lab
Re: change page to article bug ?
« Reply #17 on: May 17, 2008, 04:48:32 PM »

Why not assigned Uncategorized from first step...

No good having only this... because you need second step to assign wanted category....
In page/extra edit mode, you must have the posibility to choose a category...Which cat., does count only when position==center. Only in edit mode...

In processing, when a page/extras have assigned a position==center, then, if not choosed a category, then category=Uncategorized, else, use assigned category.


For that combo, not need to remember an old setting, is here just for helping me to set a category destination when send page or extra to an article.
« Last Edit: May 17, 2008, 07:18:31 PM by funlw65 »
Logged

mosh

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 77
  • Posts: 510
  • Awesome day :)
    • cms-zen
Re: change page to article bug ?
« Reply #18 on: May 17, 2008, 06:02:56 PM »

after some more tests:
if i change the Page status to extra works ok, then it let me change it to article ( center ).

one more issue i think we have is:
after editting, the back link leads to no results, should take us to page or to admin ?

 :P

awesome day

philmoz

  • High flyer
  • ULTIMATE member
  • ******
  • Karma: 161
  • Posts: 1988
    • fiddle 'n fly
Re: change page to article bug ?
« Reply #19 on: May 17, 2008, 10:51:37 PM »

ok, so... how about when converting page ==> article, in the article admin, the 'view' link not shown, but a message letting you know the category is to be set.

Also, maybe resetting  extra category(=0) if changed to article.
Logged
Of all the things I have lost, it is my mind that I miss the most.

funlw65

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 96
  • Posts: 771
    • Country Lab
Re: change page to article bug ?
« Reply #20 on: May 18, 2008, 12:15:51 AM »

:) Let room for mods...
Ok, I think is ok if view is disabled... but, telling that you must assign a category when a combo can be put in page edit mod....
Well, this entire thing with moving content form a zone to another.... I can live without it... But if this thing is a major request then, you know, can be made it complete...

But is ok with view disabled...
Logged

mosh

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 77
  • Posts: 510
  • Awesome day :)
    • cms-zen
Re: change page to article bug ?
« Reply #21 on: May 18, 2008, 09:13:57 AM »

hey  :D

IMHO,

Divid to 3 Content Type:

1) Static pages
3) Article (center)  pages
2) Extras pages

No Option To Change One Content Type To Anther Content Type.  :o ;D

awesome day  8)

philmoz

  • High flyer
  • ULTIMATE member
  • ******
  • Karma: 161
  • Posts: 1988
    • fiddle 'n fly
Re: change page to article bug ?
« Reply #22 on: May 18, 2008, 09:29:14 AM »

No Option To Change One Content Type To Anther Content Type.  :o ;D
That would save a lot of grief, but if we did that, there'd be a group wanting to be able to do just that  :P

Looking at extra==>article, there is a few items that are not set anyway, eg infoline, comments, so ex-extra should be edited after conversion anyway.
Logged
Of all the things I have lost, it is my mind that I miss the most.

codetwist

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 50
  • Posts: 940
Re: change page to article bug ?
« Reply #23 on: May 18, 2008, 04:24:04 PM »

Would be interesting to know what for that group is using this bug ... errr ... 'feature'. Apart from 'correction' of sloppy initial site setup because of anti-RTM mentality of course.
Logged

mosh

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 77
  • Posts: 510
  • Awesome day :)
    • cms-zen
Re: change page to article bug ?
« Reply #24 on: May 18, 2008, 08:15:39 PM »

 ::)

i use joomla from time to time,
no option to transform static pages <===> article pages.
each has its own use.

we will gain less code and as philmoz said
Quote
That would save a lot of grief

and if there will be group who want this option,
let them speak now or forever shush hehe  :P

awesome day 2 all

centered

  • Guest
Re: change page to article bug ?
« Reply #25 on: May 20, 2008, 12:51:14 AM »

Code: [Select]
$category = isset($_POST['define_category'])?$_POST['define_category']:0;
This should be a 1, since the 0 category, home, is no longer present.

Though articles/pages => extra works, it does not work for me since extraid is not being identified

possible fix:
Code: [Select]
//  $category = $_POST['define_category'];
$category = isset($_POST['define_category'])?$_POST['define_category']:1;
  $subcat = $_POST['subcat'];
  $page = $_POST['define_page'];
//  $def_extra = $_POST['define_extra'];
$def_extra = isset($_POST['define_extra'])?$_POST['define_extra']:1;

problem being if category 1 gets deleted.... which may bring back an argument that category 1 should be editable but not deletable....
« Last Edit: May 20, 2008, 12:54:34 AM by equilni »
Logged

philmoz

  • High flyer
  • ULTIMATE member
  • ******
  • Karma: 161
  • Posts: 1988
    • fiddle 'n fly
Re: change page to article bug ?
« Reply #26 on: May 20, 2008, 09:57:29 AM »

Code: [Select]
$category = isset($_POST['define_category'])?$_POST['define_category']:0;This should be a 1, since the 0 category, home, is no longer present.
Category 0 is no longer present as an editable, or named category.
This means that it works real nice as a repository for dysfunctional 'articles', which require editing for them to become world readable.
It is also outside the scope of seftitle/title testing, so won't automatically throw an error.
« Last Edit: May 20, 2008, 10:16:59 AM by philmoz »
Logged
Of all the things I have lost, it is my mind that I miss the most.

centered

  • Guest
Re: change page to article bug ?
« Reply #27 on: May 20, 2008, 11:59:27 AM »

Soooo your saying we need to have a 0 category? I am not understanding your suggestion.  A secondary editing would be redundant as a users intention would want to take care of everything in one action, that being said perhaps a show/hide function may be neccessary?

Once a "article" is published it can be edited to become a article/page/extra. 
If a user selects article, the category dropdown should appear.
If a user selects extra, and groups are visible, then show the group dropdown, and other options should appear/disappear
« Last Edit: May 20, 2008, 12:01:31 PM by equilni »
Logged

Rui Mendes

  • Development,Testing, Support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 195
  • Posts: 1009
  • sNews1.7
    • Comunidade Portuguesa
Re: change page to article bug ?
« Reply #28 on: May 20, 2008, 03:15:31 PM »

I try fix with some code, not ready yet. Some are working, please give more 2 days.

When I change page to articles, one combobox must appear (be visible) to choose category.
Logged
Need a Job on Europe. Linkdin - Facebook / Group

philmoz

  • High flyer
  • ULTIMATE member
  • ******
  • Karma: 161
  • Posts: 1988
    • fiddle 'n fly
Re: change page to article bug ?
« Reply #29 on: May 20, 2008, 09:10:36 PM »

Pages don't have, by default, a category.
Extras don't use infoline or comments.

Changing either of these to an article results in items that require setting. None of these items is required to be displayed in the admin area when it is surplus to requirement of pages or extras.
Logged
Of all the things I have lost, it is my mind that I miss the most.
Pages: 1 [2] 3