Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

You need/want an older version of sNews ? Download an older/unsupported version here.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: sNews 1.7RC Live Demo Site  (Read 12956 times)

BuLe Bali

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 2
  • Posts: 100
    • A World Full of Doubts
sNews 1.7RC Live Demo Site
« on: April 08, 2008, 01:18:09 PM »

If you want to see the 1.7 Live in action, please follow this link: http://snews17.bluenpurple.net/
As i post, i'm also trying to setup the live demo in another server http://snews17.bluenpurple.com/
Logged
This world are full of doubts! No systems is secure. No systems!
@yohanesbule

invarbrass

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 18
  • Posts: 117
    • http://snews.extremebittorrent.com
Re: sNews 1.7RC Live Demo Site
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2008, 02:06:22 PM »

the template seems to be error-prone:
http://snews17.bluenpurple.com/jokes/english/
Logged

BuLe Bali

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 2
  • Posts: 100
    • A World Full of Doubts
Re: sNews 1.7RC Live Demo Site
« Reply #2 on: April 08, 2008, 02:12:26 PM »

the template seems to be error-prone:
http://snews17.bluenpurple.com/jokes/english/
Already submit the error to BUG section.
Is this considered as a Bug anyway?

But when i use the Internet Explorer 8(beta) it seems allright. Does it caused by the different css file?
Logged
This world are full of doubts! No systems is secure. No systems!
@yohanesbule

Fred K

  • Still trying to learn stuff
  • ULTIMATE member
  • ******
  • Karma: 130
  • Posts: 2728
    • Personal
Re: sNews 1.7RC Live Demo Site
« Reply #3 on: April 08, 2008, 03:31:44 PM »

No, it's not a bug. There are errors in code you've added to the template. Last I checked the template validated just fine. (Run your page through the W3C validator to catch the most obvious errors.)

the template seems to be error-prone:
http://snews17.bluenpurple.com/jokes/english/

So, say you make a mistake when modding the php code, and the page blanks out, it's the same as an "error prone" system? (It happens to me all the time, because I don't know half of what I'm doing, but I do it anyway, most of the time to learn more. And I don't yell at the PHP system, because most of the time I understand that I've goofed up somewhere. User mistakes/errors are a bit hard to cater for in a template, you know.)

Lookit, HTML and CSS are no different than Javascript, PHP etc ... if you know what you're doing, things will work. If you don't know exactly what you're doing, chances are something will go wrong.

Case in hand: http://ball-ball.net/demo/s118/
(This demo site uses a slightly older version than the RC, but not much older. It is the raw, unmodified template. There's one validation error, coming from the search engine. Compare that to the validation report from http://snews17.bluenpurple.com/jokes/english/ and I think that you will see a slight difference.)
« Last Edit: April 08, 2008, 03:37:31 PM by Fred K (agentsmith) »
Logged

sNews Chinese

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Karma: 4
  • Posts: 34
  • www.snewscms.net
    • sNewsCMS Network
Re: sNews 1.7RC Live Demo Site
« Reply #4 on: April 08, 2008, 06:58:50 PM »

sNews 1.7RC Chinese Live Demo Site: http://snewscms.com.cn/

Chinese Simple Translation By: snewscms.cn
Logged

BuLe Bali

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 2
  • Posts: 100
    • A World Full of Doubts
Re: sNews 1.7RC Live Demo Site
« Reply #5 on: April 09, 2008, 08:06:08 AM »

sNews 1.7RC Chinese Live Demo Site: http://snewscms.com.cn/

Chinese Simple Translation By: snewscms.cn
Cool!!!
sNews in chinese!!!
Logged
This world are full of doubts! No systems is secure. No systems!
@yohanesbule

Dom

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 5
  • Posts: 163
    • domdelimar.com
Re: sNews 1.7RC Live Demo Site
« Reply #6 on: April 09, 2008, 11:09:50 AM »

I don't see anybody else complaining so could it be just me not being able to access your site?  ???
I keep getting this message in Firefox:

Quote
Server not found

Iceweasel can't find the server at snews17.bluenpurple.net.

    *   Check the address for typing errors such as
          ww.example.com instead of
          www.example.com

    *   If you are unable to load any pages, check your computer's network
          connection.

    *   If your computer or network is protected by a firewall or proxy, make sure
          that Iceweasel is permitted to access the Web.

the same happens with snews17.bluenpurple.com
Logged

Keyrocks

  • Doug
  • ULTIMATE member
  • ******
  • Karma: 449
  • Posts: 6019
  • Semantically Challenged
    • snews.ca
Re: sNews 1.7RC Live Demo Site
« Reply #7 on: April 09, 2008, 04:41:36 PM »

I don't see anybody else complaining so could it be just me not being able to access your site?  ???
the same happens with snews17.bluenpurple.com

You didn't note which link(s) were not working... in addition to the blue&purple link.
Both links in the first post at the top of this topic work for me in IE7.
Logged
Do it now... later may not come.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
sNews 1.6 MESU | sNews 1.6 MEMU

Dom

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 5
  • Posts: 163
    • domdelimar.com
Re: sNews 1.7RC Live Demo Site
« Reply #8 on: April 09, 2008, 11:04:03 PM »

Sorry, I meant http://snews17.bluenpurple.net/ and http://snews17.bluenpurple.com/ are not working for me, but I don't think it's to the browser since I'm being told that Firefox (it says Iceweasel in my earlier post but that's Firefox on Debian GNU/Linux) "can't find the server at snews17.bluenpurple.net".

lynx (that's a textual browser) reports practically the same:
Quote
Looking up snews17.bluenpurple.net
Unable to locate remote host snews17.bluenpurple.net.
Alert!: Unable to connect to remote host.

lynx: Can't access startfile http://snews17.bluenpurple.net/

That's odd. Could it be my ISP or maybe it's my firewall (although I have port 80 and 8080 whitelisted for viewing http & https content and obviously have no problem with other sites...)?
Logged

jlhaslip

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Karma: 16
  • Posts: 374
    • My snews with AEF Forum site
Re: sNews 1.7RC Live Demo Site
« Reply #9 on: April 09, 2008, 11:20:22 PM »

for me:

Server not found

Firefox can't find the server at snews17.bluenpurple.com.
 
    *   Check the address for typing errors such as
          ww.example.com instead of
          www.example.com

    *   If you are unable to load any pages, check your computer's network
          connection.

    *   If your computer or network is protected by a firewall or proxy, make sure
          that Firefox is permitted to access the Web.
Logged
Yes! I have no siggy.

Dom

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 5
  • Posts: 163
    • domdelimar.com
Re: sNews 1.7RC Live Demo Site
« Reply #10 on: April 09, 2008, 11:51:38 PM »

So it's not just me ;D -- no, I'm not happy about it...

So it's not my ISP - I found that out also by opening the page on another PC on the same connection. The page was displayed.
The thing is this PC has WinXP installed and I have Linux, firewalled. I don't know what kind of, if any firewall is in action on the WinXP machine.

jlhaslip, what system are you using and are you behind a firewall?

Maybe BuLe Bali can help us pinpoint the problem because it's interesting that I have no problem viewing www.bluenpurple.net and www.bluenpurple.com. Is there anything different with the setup of the subdomain snews17?
Logged

funlw65

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: 96
  • Posts: 771
    • Country Lab
Re: sNews 1.7RC Live Demo Site
« Reply #11 on: April 10, 2008, 01:20:32 AM »

Linux Ubuntu 6.06 on a second hand Mac G4, Firefox, Firewall FireHOL, Noscript for Firefox, in FF first site have a theme and second site is without css. I think your IP range is banned for that host....You have dynamic IP?
« Last Edit: April 10, 2008, 01:32:18 AM by funlw65 »
Logged

jlhaslip

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Karma: 16
  • Posts: 374
    • My snews with AEF Forum site
Re: sNews 1.7RC Live Demo Site
« Reply #12 on: April 10, 2008, 01:50:54 AM »

Win XP Home on a Compaq Laptop wireless connected to ADSL Cable
Only Firewall I have is the Windoze one, but I don't think it has ever restricted anything... NOD32 for Anti-virus.
Logged
Yes! I have no siggy.

Nicu Alecu

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 12
  • Posts: 224
    • BLUEBYTE.ro // IT consultant
Re: sNews 1.7RC Live Demo Site
« Reply #13 on: April 10, 2008, 07:13:21 AM »

None of the URLs above are working for me either (FF on Ubuntu Gutsy, IE6 on same). But I was not in the mood for determining what the problem could be, so I'll just let you guys poke around my own default install of RC1.7 here.
One request though: go easy about file uploading, I don't want my hosting space filled up that quick.

Ah ... enjoy!  ;)
Logged

laifuer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Karma: 1
  • Posts: 8
  • laifuer's happy life
    • Laifuer's Blog
Re: sNews 1.7RC Live Demo Site
« Reply #14 on: June 17, 2008, 06:03:08 AM »

my site http://free.laifuer.cn

Chinese by myself
Pages: [1] 2