Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Bug? Or my server setup issue... most likely  (Read 5307 times)

goran

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Karma: 3
  • Posts: 19
Bug? Or my server setup issue... most likely
« on: April 05, 2008, 05:29:04 PM »

Hi Folks,
First of all thanx for all work you are doing to bring sNews to next level...

I just tested new 1.7RC on my XAMPP test&dev server...
Config:
--Server Root
                   |
                   |---DocRoot
                                   |
                                   |--sNews installation
                                                                |
                                                                |--All subfolders

Now after creating new dev DB for sNews 1.7RC and copying all files to sNews folders, I was able to see welcome page, but I could not login... login page never showing...
But what was strange is that when I clicked on any links including login I always got something like http://site.com//pagename.... notice double slashes after .com.. any idea what is causing this???

.htaccess file fine and pointing to right directory

Did not have time to troubleshoot myself, thought I would ask first if anyone have answer of the top of their head?

Thanx
« Last Edit: April 05, 2008, 05:30:39 PM by goran »
Logged
/* Imagination is more important than knowledge. */

Keyrocks

  • Doug
  • ULTIMATE member
  • ******
  • Karma: 449
  • Posts: 6019
  • Semantically Challenged
    • snews.ca
Re: Bug? Or my server setup issue... most likely
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2008, 05:56:34 PM »

Did you enable the RewriteBase string in your .htaccess file? If so... see if you added a forward slash to the end of it. If so... remove it as you don't need one there. That's about all I can think of... since we Dudes have not experienced this problem in our recent installations.  ;)
Logged
Do it now... later may not come.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
sNews 1.6 MESU | sNews 1.6 MEMU

jackp

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Karma: 2
  • Posts: 32
  • But you said "Stick it there!!"
    • Tim Chard - myEmote
Re: Bug? Or my server setup issue... most likely
« Reply #2 on: April 08, 2008, 04:00:54 PM »

Yes same for me Keyrocks.

Exactly as you said. I changed .htaccess to

RewriteBase /snews17 but changed it back to

#RewriteBase /snews17

and worked perfectly.
Logged

metalbug

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Posts: 14
Re: Bug? Or my server setup issue... most likely
« Reply #3 on: April 08, 2008, 04:13:37 PM »

i use XAMPP too
my error is
www.host.com\/xxx/
Logged

Joost

  • Guest
Re: Bug? Or my server setup issue... most likely
« Reply #4 on: April 08, 2008, 04:38:34 PM »

We know metalbug, :)

Please don't crosspost.
What is the back slash doing in the url?
You don't use that literal, do you? www,host.com\/xxx/
Logged

metalbug

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Posts: 14
Re: Bug? Or my server setup issue... most likely
« Reply #5 on: April 08, 2008, 05:17:44 PM »

sorry my english so bad
my link is
http://localhost\/uncategorized/welcome-to-snews-17/
why?
Logged

Joost

  • Guest
Re: Bug? Or my server setup issue... most likely
« Reply #6 on: April 08, 2008, 05:32:12 PM »

Try this
http://localhost/uncategorized/welcome-to-snews-17/
instead of
http://localhost\/uncategorized/welcome-to-snews-17/

remove the \
Logged

metalbug

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Posts: 14
Re: Bug? Or my server setup issue... most likely
« Reply #7 on: April 08, 2008, 05:46:57 PM »

yes remove the \ almost to working
just i cant show the themes
but why have unnecessary  \ ?
my 1.6 full working
« Last Edit: April 08, 2008, 07:14:59 PM by metalbug »
Logged

nosliners

  • Guest
Re: Bug? Or my server setup issue... most likely
« Reply #8 on: May 27, 2008, 10:04:08 PM »

it's also happen to me. i've installing snews1.7RC at my XAMPP. i've tried using phptriad and the same problem happen. my .htaccess has been set correctly (include RewriteBase and it folder name), but i still can't access every links mention above. 

then, when i change it address using unclean url (just like at snews 1.5), it works!

example:
http://localhost/snews17/login/ (without \ of course) ----> the links didn't show up.
http://localhost/snews17/?action=login ----> it's show up

but of course, it only works when i write manually at the address bar.  next time i try to login  or clicking another links, the problems happen again.

well.. any suggestion or anyone have it solved?
Logged