Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Latest sNews - sNews 1.7 - with its own forums - for discussion and user mods.

Author Topic: Adding an AEF Forum to sNews 1.6  (Read 7291 times)

jlhaslip

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Karma: 16
  • Posts: 374
    • My snews with AEF Forum site
Adding an AEF Forum to sNews 1.6
« on: September 27, 2007, 06:07:44 PM »

Adding an AEF Forum to sNews CMS

Although not truly integrated, here is an explanation of the steps I took to have an AEF Forum Software present itself as an 'integrated' page on the sNews CMS.

1.  Download a standard sNews version 1.6 Content Management System. Instructions are found on the sNews site. (refer to link list below) There are several flavours of sNews. This method has only been tested on the sNews 1.6, but should work on other versions as well.
2.  Created a MySQL Database and user, Modded the snews.php, and took the usual steps for installing as a package. Note that the sNews is installed into the {root}/snews  directory of the Hosting account.
3.  Install an AEF Forum into a subdirectory of the sNews install named "forum", so the forum is installed into {root}/snews/forum of the Hosting account.( http://www/jlhaslip.com/snews /forum )
4.  Ported and Modded a Template from http://www.andreasviklund.com/ which had 2 column, 1024 pixel layout. The layout is a sidebar left version with the "content" on the right hand side. This is where the Forum will display.(optional, this method will work on a standard sNews layout, if the width is flexible or wide enough)
5.  Added a Menu system as per http://cssplay.co.uk for a Horizontal Centred Unordered List. IE Conditional Comments required for the menu system need to be added to the Template.(optional)
6.  Added the Categories into the sNews CMS which I wanted to be shown on the sidebar of the page which contains the Forum.
7.  Added a "Welcome" and Forum link at the top of the sidebar in the Template index.php to have the Forum link display on all pages.(from source)
   
Code: [Select]
              <h2>
                    Welcome!
                </h2>
<ul><li>
<a href="http://www.jlhaslip.com/snews/forum.html" title="Visit the Forum" >Forum</a>
</li></ul>
   
8.  Performed a "View Source", Ctl-A select all, Ctl-C copy and pasted the page into my Text Editor. Then added the following code to have the forum displayed into an iframe. I know they aren't pretty, but it works. Indexing or SEO is not a requirement on this particular site, or I might have re-considered the use of an I-frame. This process is not complete. I will be investigating other methods and will report any success I might have.
     
Code: [Select]
<iframe src="http://yoursite.com/snews/forum/index.php"   style="overflow-x:hidden; overflow-y:scroll; width: 735px; height: 800px; border:0; " ></iframe>      >>> change URL to suit your actual Account/Domain information <<<
      ??? could also be relatively referenced to the base href (not tested)???
9.  Save the page as "forum.html" as per the link added into the top of the sidebar into the same directory as the sNews CMS. (see #7 above) The Forum can be Browsed to directly using this as the endpoint of the url.(see reference below)
10. Note the html code for the iframe is sized for width to fit into the available space of the page. If you use a different Template, both the width and height may need to be adjusted. I set a height to the iframe due to browser differences. Auto or 100% failed in various Browsers, and a fixed height seems to work in all of them (to my satisfaction at least).
11. As a note, I should mention that AEF is a really nice piece of work. I have stats comparing AEf to a phpbb2.0.22 and the AEF Forum uses one third of the bandwidth. Although fairly new, the package is very functional with a News rotator script, a fixed or pop-up shoutbox included, and many more nice features. I encourage you to check it out. Also, Language Packs and IE png support is forthcoming. The version demo'd on this "integration" is utf-8 and IE png ready. The Language system is being developed as I write this Tutorial and will be available very soon. Translations are available for Spanish immediately and several other languages to follow quickly. (Egyptian anyone?)

So, that is how I did it. Not a true "integration", since the Logins aren't tied together, but they do fit into a single database. By default, the AEF database is prefixed with "aef_", so unless your Hosting requires one, no prefix would be required for the sNews Tables.

Please Note:  The copyright on the AEF Forum is mandatory, and the Forum will shutdown if you remove or modify it. Just a warning. It does, however, include an optional second copyright line. The method for adding the copyright and "Ad Bars" are on the AEF Demo site, for your reference.

I hope this helps and please post any questions you need answered. I will do my best to reply as quickly as possible.

And thanks to all the "Dudes" for getting the sNews package to this point. :)


References:

Demo of a combined sNews and AEF Forum: http://www.jlhaslip.com/snews/
AEF Forum as a standalone Forum : http://www.jlhaslip.com/snews/forum.html
Link to AEF Support Forum: http://www.anelectron.com/board/
Download sNews 1.6 here: http://www.snewscms.com/




« Last Edit: November 19, 2008, 04:07:35 AM by jlhaslip »
Logged
Yes! I have no siggy.

Keyrocks

  • Doug
  • ULTIMATE member
  • ******
  • Karma: 449
  • Posts: 6019
  • Semantically Challenged
    • snews.ca
Re: Adding an AEF Forum to sNews 1.6
« Reply #1 on: October 03, 2007, 03:04:24 AM »

On behalf of all sNews Forum members, thanks for taking the time to provide such well-detailed steps to bringing AEF and sNews together. Well done!  :)
Logged
Do it now... later may not come.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
sNews 1.6 MESU | sNews 1.6 MEMU

jlhaslip

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Karma: 16
  • Posts: 374
    • My snews with AEF Forum site
Re: Adding an AEF Forum to sNews 1.6
« Reply #2 on: October 03, 2007, 05:23:49 AM »

A small effort on my part compared to the hours that the "Dudes" have put in...

And a very humble, "Thank you, you're welcome."

 :-[
« Last Edit: October 03, 2007, 05:30:25 AM by jlhaslip »
Logged
Yes! I have no siggy.

jlhaslip

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Karma: 16
  • Posts: 374
    • My snews with AEF Forum site
Re: Adding an AEF Forum to sNews 1.6
« Reply #3 on: December 23, 2007, 06:04:30 PM »

AEF has just released version 1.05 which includes Language variables and several other changes.

http://www.anelectron.com/download.php
Logged
Yes! I have no siggy.

stjepan

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 3
  • Posts: 135
Re: Adding an AEF Forum to sNews 1.6
« Reply #4 on: November 15, 2008, 12:33:07 PM »

Guided by jlhaslip's good explanation, here's another sNews website with aef forum. Not a spectacular programming job, but another small addition to our website. To you all an invitation to join, if you need another membership  :) , and to jlhaslip big thanks.

jlhaslip

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Karma: 16
  • Posts: 374
    • My snews with AEF Forum site
Re: Adding an AEF Forum to sNews 1.6
« Reply #5 on: November 15, 2008, 06:43:22 PM »

You are most welcome.

and AEF has been version 1.07 for a coupe of months with 1.08 coming soon.
Logged
Yes! I have no siggy.

stjepan

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 3
  • Posts: 135
Re: Adding an AEF Forum to sNews 1.6
« Reply #6 on: November 15, 2008, 08:19:07 PM »

Yes, I'm using 1.07

Keyrocks

  • Doug
  • ULTIMATE member
  • ******
  • Karma: 449
  • Posts: 6019
  • Semantically Challenged
    • snews.ca
Re: Adding an AEF Forum to sNews 1.6
« Reply #7 on: November 15, 2008, 09:30:12 PM »

You are most welcome.
and AEF has been version 1.07 for a coupe of months with 1.08 coming soon.

@ Jim... I noticed your nick over there as a contributor and Moderator. Is there a live demo somewhere we can view AEF in action?
I didn't see a demo link on AEF site.
Logged
Do it now... later may not come.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
sNews 1.6 MESU | sNews 1.6 MEMU

jlhaslip

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Karma: 16
  • Posts: 374
    • My snews with AEF Forum site
Re: Adding an AEF Forum to sNews 1.6
« Reply #8 on: November 16, 2008, 12:02:13 AM »

Here is a default AEF 1.07 Demo Forum I have for testing stuff.
http://www.jlhaslip.com/aef/107/index.php?
Not much content. Pretty much a default Installation except for the HELP Mod under quick Links.

Feel free to register and play with it. Let me know if any of you want Mod or Admin Status.
I can set the Forum so Admin actions are ignored on the Configuration Data so the test Admins can play with Forum Settings, but not the Install settings. Know what I mean???

Alternately, check out the Forum at the Home Site: http://www.anelectron.com/board/
Logged
Yes! I have no siggy.