Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Splash Page  (Read 5603 times)

sage

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Posts: 8
Splash Page
« on: February 19, 2007, 08:51:50 PM »

If I wanted to add a splash page, before you actually enter the snews site, how would I set that up?
The splash would be completely different than the snews template, etc.. so I couldn't make it an snews page.

Thanks!
Logged

michael kennedy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Karma: 3
  • Posts: 207
    • SpektreDesign
Splash Page
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2007, 09:00:36 PM »

Install sNews inside of a sub-directory. Then when your user clicks "enter site" or whatever in the splash page, they enter the subdirectory, being the first page of sNews.

sage

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Posts: 8
Splash Page
« Reply #2 on: February 19, 2007, 09:04:35 PM »

Hm, ok.. I  kind of wanted to avoid that, just to simplify the URL.

As it is the URL ends up being http://site.com/home/area/ and if I put it in a subfolder it will become http://site.com/subfolder/home/area which is kind of messy, imo.

Thanks!
Logged

sage

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Posts: 8
Splash Page
« Reply #3 on: February 19, 2007, 09:31:00 PM »

That's perfect! Thanks.. I'll give it a try later on.
Logged

sage

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Posts: 8
Splash Page
« Reply #4 on: February 19, 2007, 11:54:08 PM »

Yup, worked great. Thanks!
Logged

Sheepdisease

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Karma: -1
  • Posts: 79
Re: Splash Page
« Reply #5 on: March 11, 2008, 01:02:31 AM »

Sure, so that works great if you don't have the template mod installed.

Code: [Select]
<?php session_start(); include('snews.php');
if (
$_SESSION['splash'] != 'yes') {
   include (
'splahspage.html');
   
$_SESSION['splash'] = 'yes';
}
else { 
?>
html code here<?php ?>

With mod installed, how should the be approached?

<?php session_start(); include('cms.php');
   if(
file_exists('templates/'.s('template').'/index.php')){
      include(
'templates/'.s('template').'/index.php');
   }
   else{
      
mysql_query("UPDATE ".db('prefix')."settings SET value = 'default' WHERE name = 'template'");
      include(
'templates/default/index.php');
   }
?>



« Last Edit: March 11, 2008, 03:15:36 AM by Keyrocks »
Logged

Keyrocks

  • Doug
  • ULTIMATE member
  • ******
  • Karma: 449
  • Posts: 6019
  • Semantically Challenged
    • snews.ca
Re: Splash Page
« Reply #6 on: March 11, 2008, 03:15:49 AM »

I should note that one modification may not necessarily work with another. As has been noted elsewhere by Equilni... most if not all modifications are based on a default sNews package. Some modifications by some authors do enhance and work well with other mods by other authors... but it isn't always the case. Again... sNews is a Developer's tool... so you kinda need to be a bit of a developer/programmer to make good use of sNews and its mods... and develop your own mods.  ;)
Logged
Do it now... later may not come.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
sNews 1.6 MESU | sNews 1.6 MEMU