Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

You need/want an older version of sNews ? Download an older/unsupported version here.

Author Topic: [MOD] Markdown Mod/Hack (sNews 1.5)  (Read 7065 times)

stefanish

[MOD] Markdown Mod/Hack (sNews 1.5)
« on: January 18, 2007, 01:34:06 AM »

I'm not really a programmer, but I really prefer to have a simple syntax for editing (textile or markdown) and all of the mods here were for FKC or tiny MCE which are too fancy and always provide too much "stuff" for my preferences.

I looked into markdown, and after playing with the code a bit got it to allow for Markdown syntax to be used.

This is for Developers version: 1.5.30 Stable

1. I started by downloading PHP Markdown (http://www.michelf.com/projects/php-markdown/)

2. I uploaded it to my root directory.

3. I added the following line to index.php

include_once "markdown.php";

4. I added the Markdown function call to a number of instances (not all of them) of  "$text" in snews.php

Because I was really just hacking my way though I kept going till it worked I've included the line numbers here if someone who knows what they are doing wants to clean it up or make it more robust...

Lines:

you can download my source here: http://analogish.com/snews.php.txt
(replace the database variables at the top with your own)

5. It works.

Known issues i'd love to solve, but which are beyond my abilities to troubleshoot:

- When creating a new page or article the Markdown syntax cleanly displays, however if you edit an article or page the Markdown code has been translated to HTML code which is ugly, and hard to work with (it would be great if the text was parsed back out to Markdown syntax)

Patric Ahlqvist

• Nobodys perfect, but Im pretty effing close
  • ULTIMATE member
  • I'm a self-made man and worships my creator.
    • p-ahlqvist.com
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2007, 10:22:19 AM »